Walking

I’m trying to get a feel for what it’ll be like to go without a car. I live in a bit of a spread out area. I can still walk to where I need to go, for the most part, however. I walked to pick up my taxes yesterday. I walked there as fast as I could. I was afraid I’d be late. I still need to get a feel for how far things are by foot. My son reminded me I could take my bike. I have thought about the whole bike situation. I really don’t like the bike. It may sound funny, but I prefer to walk. The bike is windy to ride. I like the feel of the ground under my feet. I like to look at things as I walk by. I especially like the extra time it takes to think about whatever crosses my mind. biking takes too much concentration for me. So, walking it is. At least until I change my mind.

I have a big test on Thursday. I’ve got my study on, like my kids say. I downloaded a book into my kindle yesterday. Anatomy and physiology for dummies. I have found it very helpful so far. I have seven more books to buy and download into my kindle, and I have replaced everything I’m going to. All in my sweet little kindle. So easy to carry. So many books inside of it. Don’t get me wrong. I love books. I just don’t want to own anymore. I keep checking for downloadable textbooks. Then I’ll be free.

When I was a tot, going to school in the big city, I was learning how to write sentences. I was too shy to ask questions. the one I wanted to ask was do you use the last letter of the word before to start the next word? I.e. start alking. (start talking). I really wish I had asked it. All these years later when I make that error, I still think of first grade, and not asking what I need to know. Perhaps there is a lesson there.

Take care,

Beth

About afiveyearplan
Making a five year plan to keep myself in line.

2 Responses to Walking

  1. Vita Reid says:

    Hello Beth,

    There is certainly a lot of “you” in this post. Very well done.

    I’m so excited about buying I Kindle, my reward after I’ve disposed of all my books.

    I’ve added a new post to my blog.

    If you haven’t already done so, you can either subscribe by email or RSS feed.

    Have a wonderful day and good luck with all your studies … and walking. That’s something I need to start doing.

    Vita.

  2. I watch for you daily on my RSS feed. Thanks for posting on your blog so often.
    Beth

Leave a Reply

