Respiratory therapist

I was in class the other night learning about lungs and what not. There was a Surgical Sam dummy on our table. One of tonight’s lessons was how to intubate a person. Most of the class want to be nurses, except the very smart girl who sits next to me and wants to be a doctor.

Anyway, let’s just say I was not very good at it. I was a little rough. Maybe we could even say the dummy allegedly lost his head over the incident.

 I hope I have another chance to practice, because getting the tube in the lungs, not the stomach will pass the test. The teacher wanted to know if anybody wanted to be a respiratory therapist. I thought about it for an instant, but since it not ever been one of my goals, I let it go. I’m flexible about my goals, and how to get them, but they are still my goals. Nursing it is, travel nursing, specifically, not  respiratory therapy. One of the kids in the class said, it might be good for a weekend job, but not the 40 hour a week job. I think he’s right. It never hurts to learn something new, of course, and I can learn it after my true goal.

The flu is running around my house at the moment. 4/4 are sick. I think the only one who is well is the cat. So we’re taking it easy, pushing fluids and mostly just chilling.

Take care, like we should have!

Beth

About afiveyearplan
Making a five year plan to keep myself in line.

3 Responses to Respiratory therapist

  1. Sarah says:

    “Maybe we could even say the dummy allegedly lost his head over the incident.”

    Haha! I think what you mean to say is “I ripped the dummy’s head off because I don’t know my own strength.” As Evan said, no CPR license for you! 🙂 I bet that class enjoys having you around; it seems like a lot of fun.

  2. Vita Reid says:

    Hi Beth,

    So sorry the house is down 4/4. I hope you feel better soon. Vita.

  3. Vita Reid says:

    By the way, I posted a reply to the comment you wrote in how to keep kids’ clutter at bay.

Leave a Reply

