Gardening

It’s almost spring here, and t’s time to start thinking about planting a garden. I read this book, All New Square Foot Gardening: Grow More in Less Space, by Mel Bartholomew.  I had read this book before, when it was not the ‘All New’ version. It’s good both ways. I’m going to give the method a try. Usually when I see a new way of dong something, I jump in with both feet. You know what happens? Broken heels. So, I’m taking this slow, and by that  mean I’m only making one garden box. t’s a four by four square. I’ll put one plant in each square. Everything will be much more manageable. I asked a friend of mine to go into with me, and she’s going to. here on the coast of NC we have some very hot humid weather. I’m thinking all the gardening is going to be early morning. I’m up early, so it’s all good.

What should I put in it? Well, onions and broccoli will be good for now. Which means I need to get going on the frame. So pretending the frame is ready, and It’s soon to be summer, I’ll be trying to grow tomatoes, eggplant, basil, bell peppers, and I can’t think of anything else at the moment. I’m sure it’ll come to me though.

We’ve gotten a lot of rain this winter, and my lawn has been soggy since last fall. I know, because we put off the last lawn mowing until the lawn dried. We are still waiting. Which is okay, since I have since lost the key to the shed. I’ll get the shed open, and then it’s no holds barred.

Take care, and keep warm.

Beth

About afiveyearplan
Making a five year plan to keep myself in line.

3 Responses to Gardening

  1. Vita Reid says:

    Hi Beth: I’d love to have a garden but I’m not willing to devote the time necessary to nurture an indoor herb box. I lack patience and devotion to those little green things like basil, sage, and other neat cooking herbs. I’ll just settle for following you along as you grow your veggies in North Carolina. Summers are oppressively humid here as well … so I can completely identify with the need to garden before sunrise. Happy planting.

    P.S. Did you receive an email yet about guest posting to my blog? I emailed it last night.

  2. Sarah says:

    So you’re going to end up planting 16 different plants? Did I read that correctly? If you need ideas for plants I can always tell you what I would cook with, and you can grow it for me! 🙂

  3. Vita Reid says:

    Beth … About an hour ago I emailed you an attachment setting forth guidelines for the guest post … did you receive it yet? You might want to check our spam.

    Thanks … vita

Leave a comment